The Bihar Post

US president Trump refuses to be chief guest at India’s Republic Day function



PATNA: Donald Trump, president of the United States of America, has politely refused India’s request to be the chief guest during the Republic Day next year, media reports said on Sunday.

- Sponsored -

The invite was reportedly sent in April this year.

According to reports in the local media, Trump has cited “pressing engagements” on the same day, expressing his inability to be available on this day.

The severe embarrassment comes amid the Indian government making frantic attempts to improve relations with foreign countries.

You May Like this also

But now with the US president saying ‘No’ to the offer, the Indian government now will have to look for some other heads of the state to invite at the annual function.

In 2015, former US president Barack Obama was the chief guest at the Republic Day parade.

List of Chief Guests on Indian Republic Day Parades (1950 – 2017)



Guest name Country
1950 President Sukarno  Indonesia
1951 King Tribhuvan Bir Bikram Shah    Nepal
1952 No invitation No invitation
1953 No invitation No invitation
1954 King Jigme Dorji Wangchuck  Bhutan
1955 Governor General Malik Ghulam Muhammad  Pakistan
1956 Chancellor of the Exchequer R. A. Butler  United Kingdom
Chief Justice Kotaro Tanaka  Japan
1957 Minister of Defence Georgy Zhukov  Soviet Union
1958 Marshall Ye Jianying  China
1959 Duke of Edinburgh Prince Philip  United Kingdom
1960 Chairman Kliment Voroshilov  Soviet Union
1961 Queen Elizabeth II  United Kingdom
1962 Prime Minister Viggo Kampmann  Denmark
1963 King Norodom Sihanouk  Cambodia
1964 Chief of Defence Staff Lord Louis Mountbatten  United Kingdom
1965 Food and Agriculture Minister Rana Abdul Hamid  Pakistan
1966 No invitation No invitation
1967 King Mohammed Zahir Shah  Afghanistan
1968 Chairman Alexei Kosygin  Soviet Union
President Josip Broz Tito  Yugoslavia
1969 Prime Minister Todor Zhivkov  Bulgaria
1970 King of the Belgians Baudouin  Belgium
1971 President Julius Nyerere  Tanzania
1972 Prime Minister Seewoosagur Ramgoolam  Mauritius
1973 President Mobutu Sese Seko  Zaire
1974 President Josip Broz Tito  Yugoslavia
Prime Minister Sirimavo Bandaranaike  Sri Lanka
1975 President Kenneth Kaunda  Zambia
1976 Prime Minister Jacques Chirac  France
1977 First Secretary Edward Gierek  Poland
1978 President Patrick Hillery  Ireland
1979 Prime Minister Malcolm Fraser  Australia
1980 President Valéry Giscard d’Estaing  France
1981 President Jose Lopez Portillo  Mexico
1982 King Juan Carlos I  Spain
1983 President Shehu Shagari  Nigeria
1984 King Jigme Singye Wangchuck  Bhutan
1985 President Raúl Alfonsín  Argentina
1986 Prime Minister Andreas Papandreou  Greece
1987 President Alan Garcia  Peru
1988 President J. R. Jayewardene  Sri Lanka
1989 General Secretary Nguyen Van Linh  Vietnam
1990 Prime Minister Anerood Jugnauth  Mauritius
1991 President Maumoon Abdul Gayoom  Maldives
1992 President Mário Soares  Portugal
1993 Prime Minister John Major  United Kingdom
1994 Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong  Singapore
1995 President Nelson Mandela  South Africa
1996 President Dr. Fernando Henrique Cardoso  Brazil
1997 Prime Minister Basdeo Panday  Trinidad and Tobago
1998 President Jacques Chirac  France
1999 King Birendra Bir Bikram Shah Dev    Nepal
2000 President Olusegun Obasanjo  Nigeria
2001 President Abdelaziz Bouteflika  Algeria
2002 President Cassam Uteem  Mauritius
2003 President Mohammed Khatami  Iran
2004 President Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva  Brazil
2005 King Jigme Singye Wangchuck  Bhutan
2006 King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz al-Saud  Saudi Arabia
2007 President Vladimir Putin  Russia
2008 President Nicolas Sarkozy  France
2009 President Nursultan Nazarbayev  Kazakhstan
2010 President Lee Myung Bak  South Korea
2011 President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono  Indonesia
2012 Prime Minister Yingluck Shinawatra  Thailand
2013 King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck  Bhutan
2014 Prime Minister Shinzo Abe  Japan
2015 President Barack Obama  United States
2016 President François Hollande  France
2017 Crown Prince Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan  United Arab Emirates


Featured Image courtesy: Social Media

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More