The Bihar Post

Top court tells ex chief ministers of Uttar Pradesh to vacate govt bungalows


The Supreme Court today held that former chief ministers of India’s Uttar Pradesh state were not entitled to government bungalows.

A three-member bench headed by Justice Anil R Dave passed this order while hearing a petition filed by Lok Prahari, a Lucknow-based NGO, according to media reports.

- Sponsored -

The SC order will impact as many as six former UP chief ministers.

You May Like this also

They include Mulayan Singh Yadav, head of the Samajwadi Party which is in power in UP, Narayan Dutt Tiwari, Kalyahn Singh, Miss Mayawati, Rajnath Singh and Ram Naresh Yadav.

The former chief ministers have been asked to vacate their government accommodations within two months.

“The Supreme Court ordered to vacate government accommodations within two months. It will reinforce people’s trust on the judiciary. It is a very important decision for the people of Uttar Pradesh as well as for the people of other states,” petitioner SN Shukla was quoted as saying by ANI.

The former chief ministers have been allotted bungalows in the posh localities of Lucknow, capital of UP.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More