The Bihar Post

End of a glorious chapter: MS Dhoni steps down as captain of ODI, T20 teams


Mumbai:  A glorious chapter in Indian cricket’s history came to an end on Wednesday when Mahendra Singh Dhoni stepped down as the skipper of the ODI and T20 side.

The BCCI confirmed his decision. The board, however, did not name the new skipper of the side.

- Sponsored -

The selectors will meet on Jan 6 in Mumbai to select the Indian squad for the upcoming ODI and T20 series against England.

The BCCI said Dhoni has made himself available for selection for the series against England.

Rahul Johri, Chief Executive Officer of the BCCI said in a statement, “On the behalf of every Indian cricket fan and the BCCI, I would like to thank MS Dhoni for his outstanding contribution as the captain of the Indian team across all formats. Under his leadership, Indian team has touched new heights and his achievements will remain etched forever in the annals of Indian cricket.”

Dhoni was considered as one of the successful Indian skippers in the history of the game. Under his leadership, India had won the World T20 in 2007, World Cup in 2011 and 2013 Champions Trophy in England.

As a leader, he had captained India in 199 ODIs, of which he won 110 and lost 74. The Jharkhand lad had captained national side in 72 T20Is, of which India won 41 and lost 28.

In his early days as the captain, he had made a strong impression in the cricket world as he guided a young Indian side to World T20 victory in South Africa in 2007. India had won the trophy by beating Pakistan.

You May Like this also

Keeping a glorious legacy as the captain, he is the only skipper to win all the three ICC trophies.

He had made his debut in 2004 but rose to become the captain in 2007 as he was selected to lead the Indian side to South Africa to play the World T20.

In his last series as captain, he won the home series against New Zealand 3-2.

Currently, Virat Kohli is leading the Test team.  Under his leadership, India recently defeated England 4-0 in home series.

Dhoni had retired from Test cricket in 2014.

Kohli has been leading the Test side since then.

Image Courtesy: internet grab


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More