The Bihar Post

J&K Reorganisation Bill: Support of Mayawati, Kejriwal stuns political pundits


New Delhi: The Rajya Sabha on Monday passed the contentious J&K Reorganisation Bill to bifurcate the northern Indian state of Jammu and Kashmir into two union territories with several opposition parties staging a walkout.

This could be made possible as several opposition parties walked away, bringing down House’s majority mark.

- Sponsored -

Several opposition parties like Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal (BJD), Jagan Reddy’s YSR Congress, N Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and also surprisingly Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) supported the government on the bill.

You May Like this also

Very strangely, Mayawati and Kejriwal have been the bitter critics of the BJP and even had launched intensive campaigns against the party in the just-held LS polls.

Media reports said about 117 lawmakers voted for the bill in the 242-member Rajya Sabha where BJP has only 107 parliamentarians. The majority mark in the RS is 121.

However, as the Trinamool Congress with 13 members and BJP ally Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal United with six members staging a walkout, the majority mark came considerably down, paving the way for passage of the Bill.

Major opposition parties like the Congress, Samajwadi Party, DMK, the RJD and Left, however, opposed the Bill.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More