The Bihar Post

Bihar imposes community fine on 16 villages for violating liquor laws


PATNA: The state government in Bihar has imposed community fine on a total of 16 villages so far for violating liquors laws.

The community fine was imposed as the villagers remained engaged in liquor trade/drinking despite repeated warnings by the excise department.

- Sponsored -

The villages are spread over 11 districts of Bihar with a maximum of five falling under Jehanabad district.

You May Like this also

They include-Diwan Pokhar Hahibpur (under Bhagalpur district), Makhdumpur Pasi Tola, Chhotaki Chainpur, Bagna, Pahadi Bigha, Ratni Mushari (Jehanabad), Malaharia Dum Chowk (Katihar), Shyampur (Munger), Kailashpuri (Nalanda), Govindpur Mushari, Manjhi Tola (Patna), Santhali Tola Kumra Ghat (Saharsa), Pakaha Nat Oli (Saran), Murarpur (Sheikhpura), Dumarhar (Siwan) and Baswaria Tola (West Champaran).

Bihar came out with a harsh legislation in April this year, imposing total ban on sale, consumption and manufacturing of liquor.

The stringent excise laws authorize the officials to impose community fine, confiscate the property of accused persons or arrest the entire adult members of the family in case of liquor bottles/empty bottles/utensils for manufacturing liquors found from the home.

The law provides for community fine for residents of the entire village if they fail to stop a person consuming liquor.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More