The Bihar Post

Battle for Lucknow turns very interesting as Shatrughan Sinha’s wife joins SP

Union home minister Rajnath Singh is contesting from this seat in UP



Lucknow: The fight for Lucknow has turned very much interesting now with Poonam Sinha, wife of Bollywood actor-turned-politician Shatrughan Sinha, finally joining the Samajwadi Party (SP) on Tuesday after days of speculations.

- Sponsored -

She will be the joint candidate of the SP-BSP-RLD in Lucknow from where Union minister Rajnath Singh of the BJP is seeking re-election.

Sinha was welcomed into the party by Dimple Yadav, wife of SP chief Akhilesh Yadav.

That she will be contesting against the Union home minister became clear very soon after SP leader Ravidas Mehrotra appealed to the Congress not to field its candidate from Lucknow seat.

Rajnath said he was ready to face anyone in the battle. “Yes, somebody must contest, that’s the beauty of democracy,” said the union minister.

He added, “We will fight elections with full dignity, tehzeeb jo Lucknow ki bohot badi dharohar hai usko bhi hum kayam rakhenge.

You May Like this also

ALSO READ: Shatrughan Sinha’s wife likely to be opposition candidate against Rajnath Singh in Lucknow

The decision to field Poonam Sinha as the joint opposition candidate against Rajnath is said to be an attempt by the opposition parties to keep the Union Home Minister confined to his constituency.

Media reports have said it was the strategy preparation over the issue that had delayed induction of Bihari Babu into the Congress. Shatru who hails from Bihar’s Patna town finally joined the Congress on April 6.

Given the caste composition of the Lucknow LS seat, the battle will indeed be tough for Rajnath once she formally joins the poll fray as the joint opposition candidate.

As per the report, this constituency has around 4 lakh Kayastha voters and 3.5 lakh Muslim voters, in addition to 1.3 lakh Sindhi voters. Poonam Sinha is a Sindhi while her husband Shatrughan Sinha comes from Kayashtha community, reports said.

ALSO READ: Why Giriraj refusing to contest elections from fellow castemen-dominated Begusarai seat

In the last 2014 LS polls, Rajnath had won the seat with a huge margin of over 2.72 lakh votes, defeating Rita Bahuguna Joshi of the Congress. The BSP and SP candidates had stood at distant third and fourth positions.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More