The Bihar Post

59 percent voters brave sweltering heat to cast votes in fourth phase in Bihar


PATNA: An estimated 59 percent voters cast their votes in the fourth phase of polling held in five Lok sabha constituencies of Bihar on Monday.

Election Commission officials said a maximum of 61.27 percent polling was recorded from Begusarai, considered Bihar’s hot seat where CPI candidate and student leader Kanhaiya Kumar is contesting elections. This is his maiden election.

- Sponsored -

Likewise, 60.80 percent polling was reported from Samastipur, 60.56 percent in Ujiyarpur, 56.58 percent in Darbhanga and 55.38 percent in Munger.

Authorities said the overall poling was around two percent more than the last 2014 LS polls.

A very happy sign of the polling was the scene of long queues at most of polling booths despite hot and humid weather. A few booths, some voters fainted due to hot weather.

The prestige of NDA is at stake in this phase since all these seats are currently held by the ruling alliance and it’s a challenge for them to retain those seats.

While Darbhanga, Ujiyarpur and Begusarai have sitting BJP MPs, Munger and Samastipur are held by the LJP.


You May Like this also

Key contestants: Giriraj Singh (BJP), Kanhaiya Kumar (CPI) and Tanveer Hsan (RJD)


Key contestants: Gopalji Thakur (BJP) and Abdul Bari Siddiqui (RJD)


Key contestants: Nityanand Rai (BJP) and Upendra Kushawaha (RLSP)


Key contestants: Lalan Singh (JD-U) and Neelam Devi (Congress)


Key contestants: Ram Chandra Paswan and Ashok ram (Congress)

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More